Finally after 2 months!

I’ve had all these posts queued up in the draft box. After losing my phone in Cambodia, I led a so called ‘hermit’ lifestyle throughout the year-end holiday. There was no smartphone gadget in my possession and since my flat is still quite raw, there was no Internet connection at all. And for the girls, there’s not even cable to watch their staple of cartoon shows.

Hence, it was like a hikmah for us three that we were not distracted by any kind of games, social media and tv. So, I’m very well bersyukur that we had a well-spent holiday.

But then again, without connection with practically everyone and anyone, it was difficult for me to help Mr K to source for or communicate with vendors. And…with 6 months to the wedding, December was supposed to be a prime time for us to get everything going and BOOKED! Somehow, we managed and I guess, by the time you all read this, We did the UNTHINKABLE for a typical Malay wedding:

We somehow managed to book ALL the major (and all are our FIRST choices ^_^) by late December. Alhamdullillah After all the sourcing for vendors who can fit our non-conventional wedding, we came back still to our first choices through sheer luck and also like they say, kalau memang da jodoh, whatever that is meant to be yours, will be yours. I mean, by this date 231212, most BTBs (usually…I rarely hear of grooms turning into panicky mode 6 months to the wedding) would have flipped if their choice of vendors have not been materialized

The ones who were more stressed were our family instead. Asking details and such and usually ngan muka relak jack, we just replied “belom“. And I truly think that I’m the one who is the one yang macam, “Ada bagus, takde takpela” I guess, as I’ve been married before and now a Bonafide Mother of Two (MOT), the novelty of Parading myself through rows of table gawking (or sniggering) at you while you sit ‘daintily’ on the dais. On the hand, Mr K was the one who has been actively updating me on his ideas for a non-conventional wedding.

I know a number of those who stumbled on this blog menyampah with our liberal use of the term ‘HIPSTER’. It’s no use for us to defend our choice and definitely we don’t hang out at the supposed Hipstershit corners in SG. Our main idea of a wedding is for it to be meaningful and Affordable. I’m a MOT, he’s single yes. We live within our means and we don’t have parents to SPONSOR this and that. Malay weddings are damn expensive and for main keyplayers in the industry to dictate what’s IN as a trend (Photoshoot for Save the Date? We did it using Instag and Photobooth app. Total Cost: $0), it’s really a trickery of some sorts I tell you.

ADATs. Yes, it may be important but for us to include things that costs just for show? Waste my money. I did my own henna the first time round back in ’06. And I will still do it again. Simple henna on the tips pf my fingers. Thats It. For me to spend more than a $100 just to adorn my hand with designs? It’s a definite no-go. I won’t deny that Brides do have that extra seri with all that. But then again, they have cash to spare. I don’t. Two kids in school, expenses, my own schooling, housing…henna designs or Bunga manggar are worthless and they definitely do not ADD value to our relationship. Money is better worth saving than spending.

Well, now I’m clearing my drafts, as promised Ladies 😉

2 thoughts on “Finally after 2 months!

  1. I love love this! thank youuu for the reminder! sometimes I get too excited with the many pretty in-trend that I forgot that I should really be saving for the marriage and not spending it all on a one day event! gahhh. peer pressure. i donno why it brought tears to my eyes reading this particular post. Shall bookmark this and serve as reminder whenever i feel like splurging on stuff yang tak penting sangat. hugs! i doa kan for you and your mister plus your two girls the best in life, and the togetherness selalu. amin!

    • Alhamdullillah ^_^ every thing is going on fine and well. And the best part is…Zero Debts!

      I mean the most important is the Marriage. the wedding is just to inform our friends and families of our Niat suci…so yeah…wasting money on extra things is just gonna create tension (it does! And I’ve seen how ugly it come become).

      And thanks for the well wishes 🙂

      Sri

Leave a comment